History

The congregation of Oak Grove Church can trace its beginnings to a small church in the neighboring village of Union in 1844.

In 1856, nine members of the Union congregation living in or near Evansville asked permission to withdraw and form their own church, and First Baptist Church of Evansville was formed.  The first church building was constructed in 1866 at the corner of First and Church Streets in Evansville.

By 1903, church was packed to overflowing for the services and plans were finalized for another new building in the same location. The cornerstone for a new building was laid in 1903, and the building was dedicated on June 12, 1904.

In 1999, the congregation at First Baptist Church left the American Baptist denomination with a firm commitment to the pure teaching of God’s Holy Word.

In 2006, the name was officially changed to Oak Grove Church.
 
In 2017, the congregation began to explore options to improve the “accessibility , flexibility and visibility of Oak Grove Church.”   In 2018 after much prayer, research and discussion,  the congregation voted to pursue building a new facility on the corner of Weary Rd and US Highway 14.  A groundbreaking ceremony was held on April 28, 2019, and the first worship service in the new building at 7150 N Weary Rd was held on July 12, 2020.
 
“They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of His splendor.”  Isaiah 61:3
 
 
First Baptist Church 1867

First Baptist Church 1867

Oak Grove Church 1903-2019

Oak Grove Church 1903-2019

church building

Oak Grove Church 2020